virginia.drivinguniversity.com Traffic School
Simple | Defensive Driving & Traffic School Online



Virginia Driving Safety

This section contains information valuable about driving safety, including information about defensive driving techniques, road rage, Virginia school zones and Virginia Seat Belt Law.

 

Defensive Driving Techniques

The basic principle behind Virginia defensive driving is awareness.  If you are aware of the dangers that lurk on the road, you can respond in a manner that protects you and your passengers.  Constant and focused awareness of your surroundings, road conditions, your car’s maintenance needs, and the behavior of other drivers can keep you alive behind-the-wheel.  Defensive drivers are the exact opposite of aggressive drivers; defensive drivers are calm, cool, collected and possess the strength required to avoid, not confront, an aggressive driver.  Defensive Drivers ‘forgive and forget.’ Read more...

 

Road Rage 

Road rage is an individual’s reaction to a driving situation that results in retaliation and dangerous behavior.  Road rage is more than anger; when a driver reaches a level of anger at which he or she begins to react physically, it often culminates in a road rage, a criminal offense.  The behavior can be as minor as a threat or it can escalate to the actual harm or death of the driver who becomes the target of an individual’s road rage. Read more...

 

Virginia School Zones 

The authority to establish and monitor Virginia speed limits lies primarily in the hands of the Transportation Commissioner; however, some towns and certain counties are permitted to establish speed limits within their jurisdiction, as long as the speed limits do not exceed the State speed limits.  Virginia State speed limits are recommended by engineers who have assessed the driving area using several factors in the surrounding areas that include traffic volume, population density, research on traffic patterns and traffic accidents and more. Read more...

 

Virginia Seat Belt Law

Pursuant to Virginia State Code §46.2-1094, occupants of front seats who are 16 years or older are required to use safety lap belts and shoulder harnesses.  Children under 16 years of age are required by the seat belt law to be secured with a seat belt or within a car seat no matter where in the vehicle they are sitting.   Additionally, children must be secured in a car seat or booster seat based on the Virginia child seat guidelines outlined below. Read more...

 

Driving University Online Course