It is important to remember that you receive 5 safe-driving points
or a reduction in your insurance premium only if you voluntarily
complete a Virginia Driver Improvement Clinic or Virginia Defensive
Driving School, but not if the Virginia Driver Improvement Clinic or
Virginia Defensive Driving School was mandated by the Virginia DMV or
court. In this case, you are only hoping for the reduction of a
fine or the dismissal of a ticket or demerits.
Driver Improvement Clinics and Defensive Driving School serve a very
different purpose than State mandated Driver Education and Driving
School courses, which are required of all new drivers under the age of
18. Enrollment in a Defensive Driving course or in Traffic School
might be a personal decision to improve your own driver awareness, or
your enrollment might be mandated by the court as a stipulation of your
driver improvement program or ticket dismissal. Read more...
Virginia Driver Improvement Clinics are required for demerit
convictions if you’re convicted of a traffic violation under the age of
18. You must successfully complete an 8-hour driver improvement
clinic at the cost of $75.00 within 90 days or your license will be
suspended until it is completed. Read more...
Online Defensive Driving
Individuals enroll in a Virginia Driver Improvement Clinic and
Virginia Defensive Driving School for many reasons, and it is likely
that you, too, will seek instruction in defensive driving at some point
in your life. No matter the reason, Driving University has a
Virginia-specific online Defensive Driving course to suit your needs.
Reasons to Take the Course
How does Virginia Defensive Driving School help you as a driver in
the Commonwealth of Virginia? First of all, the Virginia DMV uses
a demerit system and safe-driving points as indicators of your overall
efficacy as a driver. Demerits are received when you, as a
driver, commit a traffic violation such as speeding. Read more...
Virginia Defensive Driving Schools
Find a defensive driving school in your area. Read more...
Who Teaches the Course?
Virginia State approved Defensive Driving and Virginia Traffic
School courses are taught by qualified instructors who have met the
Virginia State requirements for licensure and who have pursued
continuing education specific to Virginia Defensive Driving. Read more...
Virginia Defensive Driving Instructor
Virginia Defensive Driving and Virginia Traffic School instructors
deliver Virginia State developed instruction in defensive
driving. Often times, students enroll in a Virginia Defensive
Driving course or in Virginia Traffic School because they have
committed a traffic violation and have either been ordered to or are
voluntarily looking to improve their driving skills. Virginia
Defensive Driving and Virginia Traffic School instructors deliver
instruction that is specific to driver improvement. Virginia
Defensive Driving and Virginia Traffic School instructors are primarily
employed privately by Driving Schools or may be hired on a freelance