First, Liability Insurance is in-place to cover you for the amount
of damage you do to others. There are two types of Liability
- Property damage liability
Virginia requires minimum liability auto insurance coverage of $20,000
for property damage, $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person,
and $50,000 for bodily injury or death of 2 persons or more. The
Insurance Information Institute, however, recommends you carry $100,000
of bodily injury protection per person and $300,000 per accident.
Then there are Medical Payments and Personal Injury Protection (PIP),
which are types of medical expense coverage. Medical Payments are
paid on your behalf for the medical expenses of you and your passengers
if an accident occurs and for the medical expenses incurred while
driving your car, someone else’s car or while you and your family
members are pedestrians. There is no limit to the amount of
medical expenses that are covered by MedPay.
Personal Injury Protection, also called PIP, will cover medical
expenses, lost wages and/or funeral costs after an accident. If
you have disability insurance or good health insurance, PIP is not
necessary and is not required in Virginia.
In addition, a driver can purchase Collision or Comprehensive coverage,
which Virginia does not require; however, they may be required by
lenders when you borrow money to purchase a vehicle. Collision
coverage pays for your repairs after an accident, and Comprehensive
coverage pays for damage to your car after any incident including fire,
theft, vandalism and more.
Finally, Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage will provide coverage
for medical bills if the person at-fault is either uninsured or